XOESE aims to fund Francophone women’s and young women’s initiatives in the Global South namely:

  • the 23 Sub-Saharan Francophone Africa countries (Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Gabon, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Mauritania, Niger, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Chad, Togo)
  • the Caribbean francophone country (Haiti) and
  • the Pacific Francophone country (Vanuatu) as well as
  • some of the 11 French overseas administrative divisions, departments and regions located:
  • in Africa (Mayotte, Reunion),
  • in Oceania (French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna) and
  • in America (St. Martin, St. Bartholomew, Martinique, Guyana, Guadeloupe, St. Pierre and Miquelon)


Although XOESE will eventually support women and young women’s groups in all these francophone countries and will endeavor to do so whenever possible, we will begin however, our fieldwork in ten (10) countries:

  1. Burkina Faso,
  2. Burundi,
  3. Central African Republic,
  4. Chad
  5. Côte d’Ivoire,
  6. Democratic Republic of Congo,
  7. Haiti,
  8. Mali,
  9. Niger and
  10. Togo.